I think...

It’s World Book Day!

I am a lover of books. And reading. And words.

Basically, if it is literary in any way, my nose will be in it. I’ve always been this way.
My mother read me books since before I can remember. Dr. Seuss, Beatrix Potter, The Brothers Grimm – you name it, I knew it! Hell, I could even recite it before too long.

I’ll never forget reading Hercules (the Disney book) age 7, after lights out, until 10pm. I read that book until I finished. The satisfaction of snapping the book shut before drifting into ancient Grecian (animated) dreams is unforgettable. From then, I was hooked.

The other week, my chiropractor said to me “You’re a smartphone addict anyway, judging from your posture!”. I smiled. “Sorry doc, I’m a technophobe, it’s the reading that’s doing it.” She flat out laughed then, and said “Now, that’s one I haven’t heard in a while!”
How sad is that? No books anymore? Nuh-uh, this is not good enough.

You can imagine my joy, then, when yesterday at work, a little girl was plonked at my till while her mom ran back to pick up something she’d forgotten. She excitedly showed me her costume for dressing up at school the next day. I was confused. Dressing up? On a Thursday? “Yes, silly! It’s World Book Day tomorrow! We have to dress up as our favourite characters from our favourite books!”

How did a bibliophile such as myself not know that it was World Book Day? Of course, I celebrate books every day. Still, I am beyond happy that there is a day that notes the importance of books. Delving into another story gives you so many chances for personal growth, to learn new ideas, to walk miles in other peoples shoes. Reading is so good for the soul. It gives you a community of fellow readers, it’s an excellent starting point for conversation – not to mention the good it does for your spelling and grammar!
The worst part about reading is that the book has to end. It’s the only bad thing about it, I think.

I could pontificate here about books for years. However, I figure that perhaps you could check out a few of my favourite books. These are volumes that shaped me as a person.

My Favourite Books

1. Anne of Green Gables – L.M. Montgomery
2. The Harry Potter Series – J.K. Rowling
3. The Book Thief – Markus Zusack
4. Goodnight, Mr. Tom – Michelle Magorian
5. The Drina Ballerina Series – Jean Estoril
6. Mrs. Tiggy Winkle – Beatrix Potter
7. The Chronicles of Drumshee – Cora Harrisson
8. Midnight for Charlie Bone – Jenny Nimmo
9. The Big, Big Sea – Martin Waddell
10. The Lorax – Dr. Seuss

These tales had a huge impact on my personality, or outlook on life. If you have read a few of them, or, if you check them out, leave me a comment! I love to get feedback.

2 thoughts on “It’s World Book Day!

  1. Have you ever considered about adding a little bbit
    more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is important
    and all. But think of iif youu added some great graphics or video clips tto ggive ypur posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is exhellent but wuth pics and video clips, this site could definitely be one of the most beneficial in its field.
    Very gokod blog! http://www.spandex-costume.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

